Barnsley East is currently made up of the following eight wards:

  • Hoyland Milton – includes Hoyland, Elsecar, Jump, Hemingfield, Blackerhill and Platts Common
  • Rockingham – includes Hoyland Common, Birdwell
  • Worsbrough – includes Worsbrough Bridge, Worsbrough Dale, Ward Green and Swaithe
  • Darfield – includes Middlecliffe, Little Houghton and Billingley
  • North East – includes Grimethorpe, Brierley, Great Houghton and Shafton
  • Stairfoot – includes Ardsley and Kendray
  • Wombwell
  • Cudworth

The 2013 Review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries was set to introduce substantial changes to many constituencies in South Yorkshire and would have reduced the number in England from 533 to 502. However this review has not yet been implemented. A new review of the Parliamentary Constituency boundaries is still ongoing.

The parliamentary constituency of Barnsley East in South Yorkshire was originally created in 1983.

The seat was abolished to make way for the newly-named Barnsley East and Mexborough in 1997, but was recreated as Barnsley East at the 2010 general election. This seat was held by Michael Dugher from 2010 until the general election in June 2017.

Surrounding Barnsley’s eastern outskirts, the constituency is made up of a group of small towns originally built for the coal industry.

Former miner Terry Patchett was the Member of Parliament from 1983 until his death in 1996 and Jeff Ennis won the subsequent by-election for Labour in December 1996.

Since the pit closure programme in the 1980s and 1990s, there are no working mines in Barnsley.

The other main areas of industry in the area were engineering and glass making. And today Barnsley East is still home to some world class manufacturing and engineering, but its economy is also dominated by many large retailers and distributors. Additionally,  many people work in our vital public services in Barnsley.

Over the years, South Yorkshire’s constituencies have been redrawn extensively and the new seat of Barnsley East contains wards from all three of the town’s former constituencies.

The wards in the south west of the constituency, namely  Rockingham, Worsbrough and Hoyland Milton, were previously part of the old Barnsley West and Penistone seat. The former MPs for this parliamentary constituency include Michael Clapham (1992-2010) and Allen McKay (1983-1992).

The Cudworth ward has been repeatedly moved during previous boundary changes and was, until 2010, part of the Barnsley Central constituency.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search